My 5 must-read books for 2017

   Hello everyone, how are you all? First of all, I want to keep you updated with the recent things that have happened in my life lately. Firstly, I finally finished the fourth semester at university so that means that I’ve got a bit more than a month of holidays (Hurrah!). Besides, I’m very happy because I managed to keep my grades up and that’s something that I am very proud of since this semester has been very tough and stressful. Futhermore, being on holidays means that I will be able to write and to publish posts more often.

   Okay, now let’s talk about the really important thing here, This post is about those 5 books or series of books that I want and expect to read by the end of the year. I haven’t told you before but one of my 2017 personal goal is to read, at least, 30 books (I have read 11 books so far); this is because, in my opinion, reading is the best leisure-time activity there is and I truly enjoy doing it.

   Having said this, here is a mini bucket list with the books:

  • Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty: Recently, I started watching a brand-new HBO mini TV series called ‘big little lies’, which is, in my opinion, very good and entertaining. A few days ago, I realised that this mini series is based in a book with the same name. Since that, it has entered in my list of for-reading books.
  • The lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien: I know that I should have read these books a long time ago since I am a big fan of The lord of the rings and the Hobbit films. Honestly, I haven’t had the time to read them but I promised myself reading them this year.
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling: Again, It is almost unforgiveable that I haven’t read this book yet. As a big fan of the wizardry world of the Harry Potter series, I really must read it as soon as possible to continue with this amazing story.
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket: This 13-books series seems to be very interesting. The other day I was reading some blog posts and someone wrote a review post about these books and I felt interested in them because they gave me like a the chronicles of Narnia vibes. The person recommended them one hundred percent so I cannot wait to read them.
  • The Analyst by John Katzenbach: This is the some friends of mine’s favourite book. Everyone has recommended me to read this book so I expect to do it this year for having my own opinion on it.

   Of course, there are other books that I would like to read as well but, essentially, these are the ones that are at the top of my list right now.

   Additionally, I want to thank you all because the blog has reached more than 200 followers. I’m beyond grateful with all the people who have liked, commented and followed my blog, it means a lot.

Have you ever read one of the above-mentioned books?
Do you recommend them to me?
What books are on your book list?
Tell me in the comments section.

Tschüss!

INSTAGRAM // TUMBLR

88 thoughts on “My 5 must-read books for 2017

  1. Hi again😂 So I know you’re into art and photography and stuff…and I have recently created a Facebook page called Gayle’s Shack Of Creativity. It is a place where I post my art, photography and everything artistic I do. I am hoping it will grow and I can start selling my art and hopefully create an online store! I thought you might be interested in it, so here’s a link.😊
    https://m.facebook.com/gaylesshackofcreativity/?ref=bookmarks
    I hope you will visit it and give it a like.
    All the best,
    Gayle

    Like

  2. I read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child when it was released. As a huge Potterhead I loved to be able to spend some more time with beloved characters, but the script form is bare and I can’t help but thinking there is material for much more than just one book in there.

    For what concerns The Lord of the Ring, I read the trilogy years ago and I liked it very much. Tolkien is a master in world building. However be prepared, some parts are veeeeery slow.

    I agree with you, reading is a great way to pass time. This is my “read” book shelf on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/10653476?shelf=read. Just in case you need some inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have read Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings” (& the Hobbit) once a year, every year since 8th grade. Since I’m, uh, middle-aged, it’s been many years & I always get something new. The movies are well done, but not nearly as good as the books! Hope that you will enjoy them. If you start with the Hobbit (it’s really a children’s book, so a quick read) it might make reading the others more enjoyable. Good luck with your read (& studies!) – Virginia 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Frodo Lives!

    Back in the mid-sixties I took my breaks from working in the hospital vivarium and relaxed in a sunny chair on the quadrangle reading Lord of the Rings. At that time there was a bit of a controversy concerning unauthorized editions but I can assure you, I read the one and true book, all three volumes. LOTR wasn’t such a cult hit back then but as I was reading other books edited or written by Tolkien (notably Sir Gawain and the Green Knight) I felt obligated to complete LOTR for academic purposes. Frankly I found it rather tedious and I was even specializing in Medieval Literature at the time.

    But it’s important to read LOTR if only to realize how much it has been copied by commercial writers who must rely on the imagination and research of such authors and scholars as J. R. R. Tolkien to churn out their own meager stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I understand. That generally happens with big-seller books due to the high impact these have had. Therefore, this is why these generic writers try so hard to recycle and to copy the writing styles of great writers like J.R.R. Tolkien. The worst thing is that this becomes more common every day.

      Thank you for your comment by the way.

      Regards.

      Like

    1. Yes, I have. Actually, yesterday it finished the HBO limited series called “Big little lies” (I’m currently half way through the book) and the whole series was amazing (10/10). I highly recommend it. Thank you for your comments btw.

      Regards.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. tellymurray

        You’re welcome. I have seen the series. It was a spectacular show. Award nominations for the show are a possibility. Generally, movies & TV shows aren’t exactly like the books.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re going to love Big Little Lies, I’m sure! I highly recommend both the book and the limited series; they both are amazing. I’m halfway through the book currently and yesterday it finished the TV series. It was a 10/10.

      Thank you for your comment! Regards.

      Like

  5. I’ll say what they’re all saying: Harry Potter. Oh, and the Three Musketeers is a must. I’m glad you stopped over by HC&B, I briefly scrolled through your feed and bam, I like what I see 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. alabasterbeachgirl

    I have a reading challenge of at least 25 books this year. I think I’m on #9 at the moment. Th hardest part is settling on what to read first. Good luck to you. Looks like you have a great list.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for the like at my site, Obzervashunal! If I could recommend a series of great books, the first would be: ‘The Iron Druid Chronicles’ by the amazing Kevin Hearne. There are currently eight books, with a ninth coming this summer, which I can’t wait to read. If you do find your way to the first one, let me know what you think?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I didn’t read J.R.R. Tolkien’s books until I was a homeschool mom. I read them to my children, and we loved The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings series. Now my young adults have read them again several times. We’re the nerdiest family I know when it comes to Tolkien’s books. 🙂
    Enjoy!
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. gmroeder

    Loved your “Tschuess”! It tells a whole new story about yourself. A story I can ‘read’ without you having written it. You’ll be busy this year with your book bucket list. I wish I could stick another into it – totally different but an “eye opener” for the times I lived through, and as it repeats itself, we live in now! http://www.giselleroeder.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The big little lies book is awesome! I read it already and it was very good.

      I’m currently reading the book 15. I hope to reach my goal by the end of the year.

      Regards.

      Like

  10. Hi! I have read a few of the aforementioned books and I would have to say that Cursed Child was extremely disappointing. I love Harry Potter and I was excited for the release of the script, but I didn’t think that character development was very good and I really didn’t like the interaction between the characters we already know from the series. I know it’s hard to judge a play you haven’t seen performed- for all I know, Cursed Child is absolutely incredible in person. I just didn’t like it much when I read it on my own.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Madilene

    Love the Lemony Snickett Books! I haven’t read them since I was much younger, but I’d be interested to go back and read them now. There is a Netflix Original series about them as well – would be an interesting comparison!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. thecatsmeowbooks

    Big Little Lies is good. I wouldn’t have picked it up if it weren’t for book club, but I enjoyed it much more than I expected. I think part of its brilliance is in how the author structured it, which makes pages turn faster than they would otherwise.

    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is good, but it’s a bit more difficult to get into than the series. I don’t know if that is due to the story or due to it being a screenplay. If I remember correctly, I didn’t care for it for the first third or so, but after that, I got sucked in. It definitely shows more depth to the Slytherin characters than the main series showed.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I haven’t read any Harry Potter books. A teacher in elementary/primary read the first one aloud to my class. I tried reading the third one but always fell asleep & sad thing is, it’s my husbands favorite book series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

